Awareness Level Courses:

Awareness level courses may be taught by individuals who successfully obtain a CSM, CSMC, or CSMH designation. It is at the discretion of the individual trainer to determine the appropriate length of time to cover these topics adequately. By issuing a NASP/IASP certificate, the trainer certifies to NASP/IASP that they have adequate knowledge of the subject to teach it.

The trainer may obtain training material for these and other topics by visiting our membership page and reviewing the elements of the Premium Membership, where PowerPoints, student handouts, tests, and other trainer materials may be found. Each CSM, CSMC, or CSMH may teach the following general topics:
In addition to the general topics, the CSM, CSMC, or CSMH may teach the following industry-specific topics as determined by their designation:

The following are additional awareness level courses that a CSM, CSMC, and CSMH may be qualified to teach. The list is not all-inclusive. The trainer must provide proof of competency in a topic they wish to have NASP/IASP create a Certificate and Card. This may include, but is not limited to, separate training records, a safety-related degree, or a letter of acknowledgment from another certifying agency.

  • Accident/Incident Investigation
  • Air Contaminants
  • Audits, Assessments, and Inspections
  • Construction Safety
  • Contractor Safety
  • Forklift Safety
  • Hearing Safety
  • Heat Stress
  • Hydrogen Sulfide Safety
  • Job Hazard Analysis
  • Ladder Safety
  • Materials Handling
  • Respiratory Protection
  • Safety Committees
  • Slings and Hoists
Home » Awareness